i attended 2 foodtastings today (with my sis (and maid of honor) and her hubby). imagine how full i am as i type. uggggh.

it was even supposed to be 3 foodtastings. kaso lang, VS & F hasn’t finished setting up their area at the Fernwood Gardens yet kaya sa Juan Carlo na lang kami pumunta.

On JUAN CARLO: One of the AE’s there (Redin) was very accomodating. He showed us to our table kagad and asked the waiters to serve us 5 courses from their menu (with dessert, iced tea and water). The food was ok. Madali ding kausap si Redin kasi he’s very flexible. Maarte kasi ako pagdating sa table centerpieces, the kind of chair to use (dressed-up monoblock or tiffany?), the buffet set up and the over-all look of the reception. My wedding has a zen motiff so i want to see many japanese lanterns, luminaries all over the place, small chinese umbrellas, many candles, less flowers. He was able to give me an idea of how my preference would look like and i liked it.

Why i may be getting them:

  1. i can very well picture in mind that they can follow the look and style of my reception area as per my requirements
  2. very easy to talk too
  3. very flexible
  4. food is ok na din kaso di ko nagustuhan ang pasta and siomai
  5. no out of town charges

Why i may not be getting them:

  1. their cheapest rate is P635/head (6 courses, 1 soup, 1 salad, 2 appetizers, 2 free-flowing drinks, 2 dessert (medyo mahal)
  2. yun lang hehehe

NEXT STOP: AUFFRANCE

Malalaman mo daw kung alin ang mas masarap na pagkain pag busog ka. Obviously, when we arrived at Auffrance, busog na kami. E mas madaming pinakain ang Auffrance samin. And i must say it tastes better than Juan Carlo.

Why i may be getting them:

  1. They will give me a P10,000 discount
  2. Their food is tastes better than Juan Carlo (loved the fish fillet although yung veggies e medyo maalat)

Why i may not be getting them:

  1. They are not flexible. Since the over all look of my reception is one of my requirements in choosing a caterer, they failed in this area. Kung ano lang ang naka-display sa shop nila (imagine na yellow & white flowers lang with a very old fashioned arrangement in my zen motiff? no way jose.) Nagtataka nga ako. I was looking at the credentials of the owner, Nina Marasigan and napag-alaman ko na she’s an interior designer tapos she can’t be flexible to the style of her clients? yaiks!

I am actually booked with another caterer and i just thought of canvassing for other suppliers since i only paid an ample amount to Batis Asul for reservation. I asked them for a new quotation since i changed and added a few dishes in the menu.

WHY I MAY STILL GET THEM:

  1. For a 5 course menu (no dessert and only 1 type of free flowing drink), the rate they gave me is P515/head (cheap).
  2. Their food is ok

WHY I MAY WITHDRAW MY RESERVATION WITH THEM:

  1. Will only provide a standard centerpiece (candles), will not dress up the reception area
  2. I may need to hire an event stylist

Hay naku. Goodluck na lang sa caterer hunting ko.

